Ystradgynlais & District

History and Heritage

Ystradgynlais History and Heritage

Ystradgynlais is an old mining and industrial town in the Swansea Valley and many remnants of those times can still be found in the local area, including the iconic Ynyscedwyn Ironworks arches, in Glanrhyd.

Ystradgynlais War Memorial

The War Memorial in Ystradgynlais is being remodelled, to include updated memorial plaques which include some spelling corrections of the names of local men among the fallen, as well as a few additional names, who had been left off when the memorial was first created in the 1970s. The access to the memorial has been improved by the creation of a single gateway into Gorsedd Park and a new pathway and base area around the war memorial.
See our webpage on the construction of the New Memorial

The history of the Gorsedd Stones, Ystradgynlais, and of the 1954 National Eisteddfod of Wales is covered in detail.
NEW AS OF 2016 - The Changing Face of Gorsedd Park, Ystradgynlais.

We have a detailed history of Maesydderwen School, from its beginnings in the old Maesydderwen Mansion associated with the Ynyscedwyn Ironworks. Also covered are four of the recently-closed local primary schools: Cynlais, Ynyscedwyn, Gurnos and Cwmtwrch.

South Wales was also a centre of the religious revival in the nineteenth century that saw a score or more of different independent chapels established in the district of Ystradgynlais. Many of these are now being closed, and sold or demolished, and we preserve the memory of some of them here. Throughout a lot of local history, the name of the Gough family shines out, as local landowners and benefactors of chapels, schools and charitable enterprises throughout the district.

All copyright remains with the original copyright holder, and all original research is copyright Val Trevallion, YEARGroup and is put online as a free community project by Wolfian Design. You can contact the Ystradgynlais and Ystalyfera History and Heritage websites by emailing:- contact@ystradgynlais-history.co.uk or Val Trevallion by emailing:-

Remembering The Fallen
The war graves and remembrance graves of Ystradgynlais and of Ystalyfera form an important part of local history, and on separate domains we have established websites dedicated to preserving the memory of those who fell in the world wars. These websites also index local cemeteries, memorials and monuments, as well as include many excerpts from the Llais newspaper, archived at Ystradgynlais Library.


History of Schools
The history of the schools of Ystradgynlais, including Maesydderwen and the old, now closed, primary schools.

  Aircraft Crash Sites
Aircraft crash sites in the Brecon Beacons near to Ystradgynlais, including a Vulcan, as well as WW2 aircraft.

Saint Cynog's Church
The history of Saint Cynog's Church, Ystradgynlais, rebuilt as a new building in 1861.
  Gorsedd Park
The history of Gorsedd Park, Ystradgynlais, with the stones laid out for the National Eisteddfod of 1954.

Ystradgynlais - South Wales

Contact Ystradgynlais History
Telephone : 07855 838502

Email Yeargroup:
Email Wolfian Design:
Ystradgynlais Wargraves
Wolfian Press
Whether you have a book all ready to go, or just the idea for a book, the Wolfian Press can make your dream a reality.
Wolfian Design
Valley Boys in the Great War

We are pleased to present our First World War project as a contribution to the Centenary of WWI It is a document entitled: YSTALYFERA YSTRADGYNLAIS And DISTRICT 1914 -1918..

Download the full version
Download the smaller version